Not getting a chance even after becoming the ‘captain’ of Team India, sitting out in Tests, difficult to play in ODI series

By Nishu Bhardwaj July 25, 2023 5:30 PM IST

New Delhi. The Indian cricket team now has to play in the ODI format after winning the two-match Test series against the West Indies. On this tour, Team India will compete with the host team in all three formats. India has got a few days’ rest before the three-match ODI series. In this, coach Rahul Dravid and captain Rohit Sharma will prepare a plan regarding the playing XI. Some players sitting outside in Test matches are also finding it difficult to get a chance in ODIs.

The second match of the two-match Test series against the West Indies could not be completed due to rain. Not a single ball could be bowled on the fifth day and the match was drawn. India was on the verge of winning this match but had to share the World Test Championship points with the West Indies. Team India will now enter the ODI series with the intention of further strengthening their preparations for the World Cup.

It is difficult for the captain to be selected in the playing eleven

The selectors have given the captaincy of the team selected for the Asian Games to be held at the time of the ICC World Cup to Rituraj Gaikwad. After being elected the captain of the team, he had expressed great happiness but he is waiting for an opportunity in the West Indies. Even after making a place in the Test team, he could not make it to the playing XI. Now it is difficult for him to get a chance even during the ODI series. Rituraj Gaikwad has played one ODI and 9 T20 matches. He has scored 19 runs in ODIs and 135 runs in T20s.

Indian team for ODI series:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Rituraj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar

india west indies one day series schedule

1st ODI, 27 July, Barbados
2nd ODI, 29 July, Barbados
3rd ODI, August 1, Trinidad

Tags: india vs west indies, Ruturaj Gaikwad