IND vs WI ODI: West Indies team announced, stormy player returns after 2 years, has scored 2 centuries against India

By Nishu Bhardwaj July 25, 2023 7:28 AM IST


West Indies squad announced for ODI series against India
Jason Holder and Nicholas Pooran will not play in the series

New Delhi. After the Test series, a 3-ODI series will be played between India and West Indies from July 27. For this, the West Indies Cricket Board announced a 15-member team. A dashing batsman has returned in the team for a long time. This player had to lose his place in the team due to fitness and indiscipline. This player did not get a place in the team even in the World Cup qualifiers held in Zimbabwe. The performance of the Caribbean team was poor in the qualifiers and for the first time in the history of the World Cup, the team could not qualify. After all this, the board has again given a chance to this player. The name of this player is Shimron Hetmyer. He has returned to the ODI team after 2 years.

Apart from Shimron Hetmyer, fast bowler Oshane Thomas has also made a comeback in the team. At the same time, other fast bowler Jaden Seals and leg-spinner Yannick Carriah have also returned to the team after completing rehabilitation. Apart from this, left-arm spinner Gudakesh Moti has also been successful in returning to the team after recovering from injury. The command of the team will be in the hands of Shai Hope. It was under his leadership that the West Indies entered the World Cup qualifiers but missed out on qualifying for the ODI World Cup to be held in India. Nevertheless, the selectors have reposed faith in Hope.

Hetmyer’s strong record against India
Shimron Hetmyer has a good record against India in ODIs. He has scored 500 runs in 12 matches at an average of over 45. He has also hit two centuries. He has scored these runs against India at a strike rate of more than 120.

All-rounder Jason Holder and left-handed wicket-keeper batsman Nicholas Pooran will not play in the ODI series against India. According to the Windies Board, both were not available for selection. At the same time, Alyque Athanaj, who made his Test debut against India, has also been included.

WI vs IND: ‘Siraj bowled brilliantly but I don’t want…’ Rohit bluntly on series win

The first two ODIs between India and West Indies will be played at The Oval on 27 and 29 July. At the same time, the third and last match will be held in Trinidad on 1 August.

West Indies 15-man squad: Shai Hope (captain), Rovman Powell (vice-captain), Alick Athanaj, Yannick Carriah, Kesey Carty, Dominic Drakes, Shimron Hetmyer, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Moti, Jaden Seales, Romario Shepherd, Kevin Sinclair, Oshane Thomas.

Tags: india vs west indies, Jason Holder, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Shai Hope, west indies